You want to show your partner that you love them, regardless of whether you are married or in a committed partnership. Sometimes, our actions of affection or love can feel unappreciated. You could speak a different language of love than your partner.

According to the Love Language theory, people feel most loved when expressing their love in their preferred “language.”

The Five Love Languages

There are five types of love language: Gift-Giving (Acts of Service), Physical Touch (Words of Affirmation), and Acts of Service (Physical Touch). Continue reading to learn what your love language tells you about your partner and relationship.


The gift-giving language can be misunderstood, but it is just as simple as it sounds. This love language is a way to show your love or feel loved with tangible objects rather than words. It doesn’t matter what the item is; they all send the same message: I care and think of you.

You can receive pearls as a token of your love from your partner on your 30th Anniversary or flowers simply because they thought about you. But the real meaning of gift-giving comes from something other than an extravagance. It’s all about sentiment. Gifts are a way to feel loved. You will treasure them no matter what occasion.

You should never forget your Anniversary and birthday if your partner speaks the same language. They will be upset if you fail. Small gestures such as buying them chocolates or having lunch delivered to work can show your love. You can also show your love by buying chocolates on a random day or having your favorite lunch delivered to your workplace.

Acts of Service

Did you know that actions speak louder than words? This is the foundation of the Acts of Service love language.

Acts of Service are your love language if you value action more than words. You likely love and appreciate the small things your partner does for your well-being, whether making your coffee or baking you a delicious breakfast treat. Or a more extravagant gesture such as making your bed for you.

Unlike someone who uses the Gift-Giving love language, love is not expressed through gifts. This is likely you. Your significant other will show you that they care by showing your passion through meaningful acts of support.

You might suspect that your partner is a lover who acts of service. Think about ways you can improve their lives by finding small acts of kindness that will bring joy to their day. It might be a simple task to make your partner’s favorite dish, clean their car, or bring them cold beverages after a long day on the job.

Physical Touch

Physical Touch is your love language. You will be more interested in physical gestures of affection, both intimate and non-intimate, than receiving compliments or gifts. You value gestures like a hug, kiss, or handholding. Cuddling with your partner is a way to strengthen your relationship. Establishing emotional intimacy with your partner is important if your love language is Touch. You will appreciate every Touch that you are given. After a long day at the office, a quick kiss from your spouse can help you relax and feel uplifted.

You can show your love by hugging your partner when they return from work if their love language is physical Touch. You can also show your love by giving your partner a random shoulder massage or a lengthy kiss.

Words of Affirmation

The words of affirmation are positive words that express your love for your partner. These compliments and encouraging words help your partner feel valued and loved. Words of affirmation is your love language. This could indicate that you are sensitive and pay close attention to words.

You would notice your partner’s voice, and you might even ask your coworkers about his mother. Words are more important than tangible things for you. Simple words like “You are the best” and “I couldn’t have done it without you” can transform your day. You are able to communicate with others and can use words to inspire them. People often turn to those with this love language for help and advice.

Your partner may prefer Words of Affirmation as their primary love language. It is important to show them that you understand how they feel and are able to empathize with them. Positive words will fulfil your partner. So take advantage of opportunities to praise, appreciate, and encourage them. Also, say “I love” often.

Quality Time

Quality Time is a love language that emphasizes being together and not distracted. This is the love language you have. You will enjoy your partner’s company, regardless of what activity they are involved in. Your partner should give you their full attention every day and make an effort to spend time with you. This is how you feel the most loved. Spending time with your partner is more important than receiving compliments, gifts or touching. You love to eat dinner together, share your day (eye contact enhances connection), bike, boat, or hike together – anything that allows you to spend quality time with your partner. These activities can make you feel valued, important, and understood.

However, being fully present and actively listening in today’s high-tech world is not easy. You might be offended if your partner scrolls through their phone and interrupts you while you talk. You might feel annoyed by their split attention and even think they don’t care.

You may think your partner is a lover who values quality time. Learn how to show your love by being completely present to your partner. It is important to ask thoughtful questions, make eye contact, and converse. Remember to make time for you two, whether it be a romantic dinner or a mini-staycation.

Your love language will be revealed quickly if you pay attention to what makes you feel most loved. Are you more drawn to affection or do you prefer to hear kind words? Are you satisfied spending time with your partner, or with a friend? Do you like receiving small gifts? You may feel most loved when your partner takes care of the kids, or your coworker stops by Starbucks to get you your favorite Latte.

Learn the love languages to enhance your love life. This will not only benefit you but also your relationship with your partner or other people in your life.


Write A Comment